Solar Eclipse 29 April 2014

On 29 April 2014, at 06:14:29 UT, there will be a rare non-central annular solar eclipse. The Sun and the Moon will be conjunct in 08*52 Taurus.

A partial eclipse will be visible within the much broader path of the Moon’s penumbral shadow, that includes the southern Indian Ocean, the southern edge of Indonesia and all of Australia.

This eclipse is part of Saros cycle 143, repeating every 18 years and 11 days, containing 72 events. The series started with partial solar eclipse on 7 March 1617.

The map below shows visibility and timing of the eclipse (time = UT):

2014 Solar eclipse path

(click to enlarge)

The astrological chart, cast for Bangladesh, shows the event:

2014 Solar Eclipse Dhaka

In his Annus Tenebrosus, or the Dark Year, the famous 17th century astrologer William Lilly presents a method of eclipse delineation, including an interpretation of the effects of solar and lunar eclipses, occurring in each decanate of the Zodiac. As this solar eclipse takes place in the first decanate of Taurus, Lilly’s aphorism is as follows:

“afflicts such as are Negotiators, Solicitors, Agents, or are generally employed in men’s affairs, or in the publick; it compells men to undertake unnecessary business, it brings to nought, and confounds all factions undertaken by the former sort of men, and is suficciently hurtfull to corn”.

If we have a look at the eclipse’s path of angularity, we can see the following:

Solar Eclipse 2014 angularity map

The map above shows that the solar eclipse will be of quite immediate importance for parts of Africa, particularly Morocco, Mauritania, and the Ivory Coast. The eclipse point will be in the first decanate of Taurus, suggesting Venus to be the eclipse ruler. Venus is essentially dignified by exaltation in Pisces. William Lilly tells us about Venus being Lady of the Eclipse:

“… Venus generally in all things is like unto Jupiter, and produces such effects, with a certain kind of gracefulness; Peculiarly she gives renown unto men, honour, cheerfulness, … obedience and confirmity in Religion, … In the ayr she stirs up temperate blasts of wind, moyst and fructifying, no unpleasing weather or troublesome tempest. In rivers, it notes their gentle Inundation, and pretty swellings without harming any thing, not destructive or violently breaking forth …” 

We can also see that the eclipse point is conjunct the Medium Coeli in Bangladesh, China and Russia. Our astrological chart above is cast for Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, and the map segment below shows the event from a different perspective. We can expect Bangladesh to be affected four to five months after the actual eclipse date.

2014 Solar Eclipse map Bangladesh

 

divider

For readers, interested in the personal implications of this eclipse, it might be of interest what William Lilly has to say:

“… Eclipse is more dangerous or pernitious which shall be in the Horoscope or Ascendant of the birth; or which shall be in the degree Ascending in an Annuall Revolution: it portends unto the Native some ominous and mischievous action as unto his body and also in his vital substance.”

And further on:

“… who had in the Radix of his Nativity either the Sun or the Moon in that degree, or in the degree opposite … or in the like degrees … which signs are in Quadrate aspects to the former, or if the degree Culminating in any man’s Nativity was either [the degree of the eclipse or its opposite or square] or within one degree thereof, the native did suffer more or less by the influence of this Eclips; according to the signification of the House of Heaven, wherein the Sun or the Moon was in at the Birth, and was either well fortified or aspected of the benevolent Planets, or ill aspected, or afflicted of the Malevolents.”

For this particular Solar eclipse that means that people with Taurus rising or culminating, either in their birth chart or in their solar return chart for 2014/15, will feel the influence stronger than others. Furthermore it should be noted if Sun or Moon are closely conjunct the Ascendant or Midheaven. Should it be the case that one or even more of these factors apply, an in-depth reading of the native’s charts may be necessary to find out which particular areas of life are likely to be affected the most.

43 comments on “Solar Eclipse 29 April 2014

  1. steve says:

    Hi Peter, I was born August 10 1966 at 5:52am in Los Angeles, Ca.
    I was wondering if I’m in range of the eclipse?

    • Steve, I had a look at your chart in connection with the eclipse. The eclipsed Sun is not close enough to your MC to really affect you greatly. Also, Venus, the eclipse ruler, casts favourable aspects on 5 of your natal planets, which is good. All in all, you may experience a short and mildly positive effect in five months or thereabouts.

  2. Ileana Ticala says:

    Steve, I was born 30 April 1974….I am really scared because I don’t know what is going to happen …could be good?…cold be bad?…

  3. steve says:

    Ok. Thank you, Peter!

  4. Daniela says:

    Hello peter ,
    I was born on may 23,1990 at a 1:30 pm in Toronto Canada. Its hitting a natal planet , could you please help me interpt what that means?

    • Daniela, it is true that the eclipse point will be conjunct your natal Mercury. I don’t think though that you will feel much of it. The eclipse point is not close enough to the MC for that to happen. Also, the effect would only set in after about half a year. Your Mercury is not nataly afflicted; maybe some travel arrangements could be in jeopardy, a delay, or a little upheaval, but I wouldn’t worry too much if I was you.

  5. nikki says:

    hey peter, how about a birthday on 29th April, 1989, born 3.15pm Melbourne, Australia?

    • nikki says:

      sorry, birth place is actually Nelson, NZ!

      • Nikki, I had a look at your chart and it is try that the eclipse point is conjunct your natal Sun. Nevertheless, the conjunction is located in your 8th house. This means that you will only feel a very diminished effect and that only after about seven or eight months. I would guess that the eclipse may affect your relationship, which in turn may also affect your home life. There is no indication though that this effect will be a negative one. Perhaps you are up for an exciting change of circumstances.

      • nikki says:

        thanks peter:)

      • You’re very welcome, Nikki.

  6. Kelsey says:

    Hi Peter, how much of an effect can I expect if I was born at 8pm May 11, 1986 in Calgary, Canada?

    • You are one of the few people who will possibly feel the effect of this eclipse. I will only come into effect after about 11 to 12 months, but may affect your relationship or at least cause problems with friends or acquaintances.

  7. rt says:

    Hi Peter, I was born on May 12th 1979 in Delhi India at 7:26 am. Will this eclipse affect me in any way? I have had a very rough time last one year so just wanted to know…..many thanks.

  8. didier says:

    Hi
    I was born on 08.26.1961 at 8:30 am in diepenbeek Belgium. will this eclipse affect me ? thanks

  9. Celestial says:

    Hi Peter,

    I was born 7:04pm on 3rd Sept 1969 in Melbourne Australia. I know a little bit about astrology and this Solar Eclipse will fall conjunct my natal Saturn in my 2nd house. Interesting too is the eclipse ruler, Venus, will be conjunct my Ascendant.

    I am not sure if you use Solar Arcs at all but my SA Ascendant is also at 8 degrees Taurus. To make a long story short I have had a rough time with my Dad and his partner over the last few years and with the Lunar Eclipse on the 15th April opposite his natal Aries sun things have exploded and now my Father and I aren’t talking to each other and going from his words possibly not speak to each other ever again. :(

    If you look at the symbolism of Saturn (father) and 2nd house (values) what is happening is very appropriate – and with the Grand Cardinal Cross through my cardinal houses it’s all a bit dramatic.

    As you mention the eclipse doesn’t aspect my MC or ASC but does form a grand trine with my natal Sun and transiting Pluto. I also have a lot of natal planets between 6 and 8 degrees.

    Any other thoughts as to how it may or may not affect me?

    Kind regards.

    • Celestial says:

      Hi Peter,
      Do you have any thoughts on my chart and the Solar Eclipse?
      Thanks.

      • Sorry for the late reply, but not to worry – the eclipse point is in your 2nd house; below the horizon and too far away from the angle (succedent house!) to have any effect on you. Eclipse ruler Venus is close to your ASC but casts no aspects to any of your natal planets – again nothing to be concerned of or worried about.

  10. Alefa says:

    Dear Peter, I would very much love to hear your opinion:

    We are going through a turbulent time with my boyfriend (splitting and talking a lot about responsibility, jealousy, commitment for the future etc.) and this April’s solar eclipse is touching our descendants and some planets quite strongly.

    The eclipse happens on the same degree of my boyfriend’s descendant and opposes his Saturn in his 1st natal house, while having his nearby natal Venus transited by Saturn.
    He was born 24 December 1983 at 3:25am CET (central europe, Czech republic).

    The eclipse falls into my 7th house as well, with a trine to my natal North node/Moon/Lillith/Saturn in 11th house.
    I was born 23 August 1979, 10:55am CET, slovakia.

    What do you think this eclipse might bring for us, for him, for me?

    Thank you very much!

  11. Astrid Asimov says:

    Peter, you are very gracious and also very generous with your radiance.

    Please; I would say that I am at a crossroads, but it doesn’t seem to end, so maybe not.

    If one were born at 2:02 pm, Dec 11, 1951, Newark, New Jersey, how might this eclipse affect one and what should one look for positive direction?

    TIA. Go Trines!

    • Dear Astrid,

      Looking at your chart, together with the eclipse chart, I don’t think that you will be greatly influenced. The eclipse point is too far below the Ascendant to be of much significance to you. Also the opposition to natal Venus is a wide one, so I would not think that that this will have a great effect on you.

  12. kris says:

    Pater – I was born in New York City, New York at 10:45AM on May 26, 1952. Can you tell me of the effect of this eclipse on my chart?

  13. JB says:

    Dear Peter, would take a look at mine too? dob-17 january 1993, time- 12:21 pm, place- lucknow, India.

    • You are one of the lucky few, who will be affected by this eclipse. Eclipse point will be sextile natal Venus, you will be positively affected by this eclipse.It seems that you will get an energy boost, feeling better; also a possibility to find new friends or enjoy a great time with old ones.

  14. Geoff says:

    Hi Peter, I was born 4/29/56 10:10 am. Salt Lake city Utah, Living near Santa fe Nm. now. Anything for me?
    Thank you for you kindness.
    Geoff

  15. Scarlet11 says:

    Hi Peter,

    Thank you in advance for any light you can shed on this matter for me. My birthdate is 4/30/60 and there has been tremendous family upheaval in my life between me and my two son’s for the past three years with my youngest recently moving out after a disagreement. It has been very difficult for me to draw clear boundaries with either of my son’s and I constantly feel disrespected and unappreciated.

    Will this eclipse bring any of this chaos to a close? This exact same eclipse occurred the day before I found out I was pregnant with my youngest son in 1995, the same son that moved out recently.

    My heart is breaking for our family and I desperately want to stay close to my son’s, but I have decided that I can’t continue in the same manner in which we have been interacting.

    How do you think this eclipse will effect me? My rising is Gemini, if that helps.

    Thanks so much,

    Scarlet11

  16. Eduard Schmitke says:

    Hello Peter, do you think it might be of any relevance that the eclipse’s ruler Venus happens to fall near her precise exaltation degree (26.00-26.59° Pisces)? According to what I’ve read, Venus would not only be exalted, but on her “throne” there. It seems to be a very strong position for her.

  17. Anon says:

    Peter, I think Bangladesh is in the news now- re missing plane?
    Thanks for your insights.

  18. Ask Angels says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back
    to your website? My blog is in the very same niche
    as yours and my users would definitely benefit from
    some of the information you present here. Please
    let me know if this alright with you. Thanks!

  19. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing issues
    with your site. It looks like some of the txt in yojr content are running
    off the screen. Can somebody else please comment andd llet
    me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This could be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this
    happen previously. Thank you

  20. Jamison says:

    Excellent blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost
    on everything. Would you recommend starting
    with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused ..
    Any recommendations? Thanks a lot!

    • Best to go with a free WordPress account to start with, IMHO. I haven’t felt the need to upgrade as it does eveything I want it to do. Never experienced any down time and the stats page is pretty impressive, too.

Leave a Reply

