Solar Eclipse, January 4th 2011

On January, 4th at 09:02UT, there will be a partial solar eclipse. At this time Sun and Moon will be conjunct in 13*38′ Capricorn, forming an applying square aspect to Saturn, the dispositor of the eclipse, as the chart below shows.

In his Annus Tenebrosus, or the Dark Year, William Lilly presents a method of eclipse delineation, including an interpretation of the effects of solar and lunar eclipses, occurring in each decanate of the Zodiac. As this solar eclipse takes place in the second decanate of Capricorn, Lilly’s delineation is as follows:

“… it stirs up the fury and the spirits of sworn Soldiers, against their Commanders in Chief or against their Emperor, King or Prince, it renders all their endeavours fruitless, and the events thereof unprosperous; it is the forerunner of scarcity of Corn, and that many will dy of want thereof.”

Lilly continues, explaining where to look to clarify the delineation:

“… For although it be most true, that the Planet who disposeth of the place of the Eclipse, shall mostly shew what manner or quality the effects shall be of, yet are they more or lesse, great or little, more forcible, or more restrained, according to the quality of that Planets existence and fortitude at time of the Eclips.”

For readers interested in the personal implications of this eclipse, it might be of interest what William Lilly has to say:

“… Eclipse is more dangerous or pernitious which shall be in the Horoscope or Ascendant of the birth; or which shall be in the degree Ascending in an Annuall Revolution: it portends unto the Native some ominous and mischievous action as unto his body and also in his vital substance.”

25 comments on “Solar Eclipse, January 4th 2011

  1. I think I’ll stay in home, Peter, on Jan 4th!

    Actually, during the solar eclipse we had in August 1999, I was at Sai Baba’s ashram in India, and everyone stayed inside for the whole time of the eclipse, a few hours. Their belief is that there’s a lot of ‘bad stuff’ flying around during eclipses … and this one sounds like no exception!

    • Hmmm, I just had a look at your chart and found that the eclipse falls in your 8th House. Thinking about 8th House matters like money, shared money, tax issues – and I am thinking about the lack of corn here, metaphorically speaking……

  2. Oh dear, yes! The corn stocks are running low, Peter, already, and I have a big tax bill to pay. So I guess staying in won’t help, then? Is there anything else I can do? 😦

    • I will have a look at your chart and see if there are any positive trends visible. I will let you know as soon as I have had the time to have a look (send you an email or a private message on FB)

  3. Thank you, yes! Something favourable on the horizon …. like an extremely rich Sugar Daddy! 🙂

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Andrew Duncan and Cosmic Flotsam. Cosmic Flotsam said: Solar Eclipse, January 4th 2011 | Peter Stockinger's Traditional …: On January, 4th at 09:02UT, there will be … http://bit.ly/dQ9GU9 […]

  5. Lafayette says:

    I’m a Sag (12/12/59) with Capricorn as ascendant, this means that the next eclipse
    will be particularly harmful…to me? as both Moon and Sun will be in the Capricorn?
    Now, I found Willian Lilly, outstanding ! Can you send me some indication where to learn about ‘the houses’?

  6. Lafayette says:

    In Twitter as…Fogodoeon@twitter…

  7. Bianca says:

    Hello, hmmmm….yes my sign is capricorn….24/12/1975 at 6am in Adelaide, Aust…would be most grateful for any “tips”. Bless.x

  8. Sharon Aldred says:

    As my birthday is January 4th (3pm birth in South Wales, uk) I am presuming that any effects that are general, with this eclipse and alignment, will be more pronounced for me? Do I need to be worried?

  9. Dear Sharon,
    to give you an exact answer you would have to be more specific regarding your birth data. However, having had a fleeting glance, it seems to me that the eclipse may affect your relationship/love life.

    Hope this helps,
    Peter 🙂

  10. Mari says:

    Peter,
    I was looking for some insight into the possible good this eclipse would have on my chart. I was born in the USA in St. Paul, MN at 9:58 on August 16, 1982. Any help of note you could provide would be of great interest.

    Thanks,
    Mari

  11. diana says:

    I was born 2/27/79 Euclid, Ohio @ 6:07pm. How will this eclipse effect me?

  12. Murray says:

    The Jan 4th eclipse belongs to Saros 151 (born August 14 1776). From a general (non located) perspective: – both eclipses have a Mars square Saturn aspect with Saturn from the Jan 4th eclipse making a Saturn return to the 1776 eclipse (within 24′ of longitude). The eclipse from 1776 is on the midpoint of Saturn/Jupiter.Uranus from Jan 4th eclipse; Jupiter and Uranus are making a partile conjunction on the same day. This combination is looking very much like a destructive worldly event (an earthquake would fit the description) maybe within a month. The Pacific rim has been very active with earthquakes in the past week.

    • Dear Murray

      Thank you for your input, it is appreciated.

      I just want to point out that interested readers can find much information about eclipses, the Saros cycles, graphics and much more on the NASA eclipse website:
      http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/eclipse.html

      It will be of interest to see, how this eclipse will affect us all.
      Just as a reminder, William Lilly tells us in his “Annus Tenebrosus” that an eclipse in a moveable Sign (here Capricorn) “… shews the matters or things thereby signified to be convertible, either to good or evil.”

      Murray, can you explain to us what the reasoning behind your statement that events will take palce in about a month’s time, is?

      Regarding timing, Lilly writes: “… no Eclips of the Sun can extend its influence longer than three years and one halfe from the houre of the Eclips, nor can it be above eight or nine Months before it begin to worke.”

  13. Leanne Jones says:

    Hi it is my birthday4th Jan I was born @ 4.30pm in Bridgend, south wales 1973 does this have any influence for me 😀

    Regards and a Happy New Year,
    Leanne

  14. Melanie R. says:

    Wow, the intensity explains the darkness fighting in my home last/tonight. Though many positive things as well, there was this air, mysterious, heavy, but it didn’t overtake me.

    My info is 6/6/83 10:17am, New York, NY Any suggestions? There are a few things I am working on manifesting in the next 2-3 months..

    Also, if you wouldn’t mind pointing me in the right direction for this knowledge, how do I compare my chart with a chart of daily or monthly aspects? I am also looking to learn astrology more than just beginner level.

    Thanks so much and Many Blessings,
    *~Melanie

    • Dear Melanie

      To answer the first part of your posting I have sent you a private email as some of the findings are of a private nature which, in my opinion, should not be shared on a forum like this.

      To answer your question about studying astrology, you would have to decide which form of astrology you would like to study first. Here on my web log, we are primarily dealing with traditional astrology as it was practiced before 1700 AD. I suppose that you are probably more interested in natal astrology than electional or horary astrology.
      It is quite hard to find a good teacher of natal traditional astrology these days. Nevertheless, if you want to inform yourself by studying some books first, I would recommend Dr Ben Dykes’ books Persian Nativities I -III, more information about these and much more can be found on his website:
      http://www.bendykes.com/
      The third part of the series, On Solar Revolutions, might answer your questions about monthly or yearly events in the native’s life.
      If I can be of any more help, please do not hesitate to post on my web log again,
      Sincerely
      Peter 🙂

  15. Marilyn says:

    Very interesting stuff. I like your insight.
    I have a Sag ascendant but it shares the 1st house with Cap.: August 4, 1956, 3:43 pm Charleston, SC Eastern Time.
    Have had a life changing year including surgery, chemo, and radiation but what to do now? Trying to get rid of fear but it is embedded deeply.
    Any suggestions.
    Thanks so much

Leave a Reply

