Lunar Eclipse June 15th, 2011

On June, 15th 2011, at 20:13UT, there will be a total lunar eclipse. At this time the Moon will be in 24* 23′ Sagittarius, exactly opposite the Sun in 24*23’ Gemini as the chart below, cast for London, shows:

One can immediately recognise that the Moon is conjunct the Ascendant, which makes this a significant eclipse for London and with it for the whole of the United Kingdom. The map below shows the eclipse’s line of angularity:

 

 (click on the map to enlarge)

William Lilly writes in his pamphlet on the judgment of the effects of solar and lunar eclipses:

For when the place Eclipsed, or Eclipse itself, shall be in the Ascendant, the effects shall then begin in the 1, 2, 3, and 4. moneth next after the appearance of the Eclips, but its greatest vigour, and most material accidents designed from that Eclips, shall shew themselves in the first third part of time allotted to the universall Duration thereof.

Furthermore it has to be noticed that in his Christian Astrology, Lilly notes that London is coming under the rulership of Gemini. Looking at the eclipse chart one will notice that the Sun is in Gemini, opposite the eclipsed Moon in Sagittarius.

Comparing the eclipse chart (inner wheel) with the Aries ingress chart for 2011 (outer wheel), one can see the ingress chart’s Nodes of the Moon are close to the ASC/DC axis.

(click on image to enlarge)

In his highly recommended book The Cryptic Cycle, Murray Beauchamp writes about the significance of the nodes:

By themselves, the Nodes of the Moon can indicate some powerful forces at work if found in close aspect between charts. Their action can be iconoclastic; not that this should surprise us at all, because during the eclipse season they are truly activated. Node-to-Node aspects (conjunction, square and opposition) are an important indicator of a powerful activation of the lunar saros.

Looking at the birth chart of this eclipse cycle, which is saros #130, from June 10th 1416, 11:56 LMT (outer wheel) together with the chart of the forthcoming eclipse in June 2011 (inner wheel), we can see the important angularity of the Nodes of the Moon in both charts. Both charts are cast for London.

(click on image to enlarge) 

 William Lilly’s aphorism for a lunar eclipse in Sagittarius is as follows:

A Plague followes, and great evils afflicted all mankind, Consumptions, more than ordinaire.

Jupiter, being Lord of the eclipse, is located in the fourth house of the eclipse chart, indicating that this eclipse might be concerned with fourth house matters in the wider sense. The astrologer Richard Saunders, who was hailed by Lilly, does indeed attribute the plague with Jupiter.

It might as well be noteworthy that the eclipsed Moon and Jupiter are in mutual reception by triplicity and that the Moon is furthemore forming an applying trine to Jupiter.

See as well my web log entry about the solar eclipse on July 1st 2011:

https://starsandstones.wordpress.com/2011/05/24/solar-eclipse-july-1st-2011/

UPDATE: see my blog post on the E. coli outbreak and the lunar eclipse here: https://starsandstones.wordpress.com/2011/06/04/e-coli-outbreak-and-total-lunar-eclipse-on-june-15th-2011/

28 comments on “Lunar Eclipse June 15th, 2011

  1. Judy says:

    So I want to make sure I am reading this right. Does this mean that it is quite possible that there will be an outbreak of tuberculosis in London later this summer? I noticed that the line of angularity runs right along the coast of Europe, and hits Rio de Janeiro, also, running along the coast of South America. I have seen a poorly dignified Jupiter (as this one is) with trine aspects indicate cancer before in horary charts, so I can easily see that greater benefic misbehaving here. Could it be some kind of disease from the Atlantic (due to the asc hugging all that coastline)?

    Judy

    • Dear Judy,

      yes, there is that possibility.

      Sincerely
      Peter

    • Ants says:

      I have good news. The movement of Stellar objects does not affect the spread of Bacteria. The people of London are safe.

      You had me worried there for a second.

      • Dear Ants,

        I am so glad for you that you are not worried any more! In answer to your concern , all I have to say to you is that you obviously have never heard of the concept of symbolism. Nowhere in the article do I state that planets have a physical effect on things. The principle here is “agunt, non cogunt”, as already pointed out by William Lilly in the 17th century. If you would have read the text more carefully you would have also noticed that I spell Planets with a capital P to distinguish them from the heavenly bodies astronomy is concerned with.

  2. menega says:

    i also noted that this lunar eclipse is on the reverse angles for japan (nagasaki) with pluto on the DSC for the area around fukushima. san francisco has it smack on the IC/MC as do oman and dubai.

  3. Sue Miller says:

    Again Peter, thank you for sharing your insights with us.
    Sue Miller

  4. Sigi Keller (Sigistardust) says:

    thank you for your information.
    I always been interested in eclipses, will it address more countries and cities , how about personal?
    Peter, this one falls right on my birthday june 15th, my sun is 23.21.50 in H.10th and Asc.Virgo 1.27.23.
    Moon is 24.26.44 conj. MC21.15.19 in Taurus, does it looks like turbulent times ahaed, or status quo?
    I am planing to have some laser eye surgery done, around end of June, but hope to find a good election for the date which is still open in order to stop forever looking for my misplaced glasses, lol lol>

    Again thank you for all you enformation regarding eclipses, looking forward for the next one.
    warm regards
    Sigi

  5. Am I missing something. Where’s the utility bit in the info?

  6. Perhaps the language is a bit esoteric. Maybe here’s x and that means y. The y is the utility the information one could use. Maybe its just me and my limited knowledge. Thanks for responding Peter.

  7. aliman says:

    I am thinking about my friends’ natal chart and on june 15, sun is opposing his natal sun in scorpio at 25°29’21”, natal venus , natal mercuray, Natal neptne, and south node all in scorpio between 22 to 27 degrees. Any comments

  8. lana whitney says:

    As a novice astrology lover I am wondering whether the June 15 full moon eclipse has any significance for me. My natal uranus in Gemini is 26 d and progressed uranus 24d in 9th house of Gemini. My progressed asc is 23 d of Sag in 3rd. I believe the sun in gemini will square my natal sun in virgo at 26 d in 12th house and sextile my progressed Jupiter in Leo at 26d in my 11th house. I hope I’m making sense. I keep hoping for a bit of a change,hopefully for the better, as I’ve been stuck these past 3 years or so. Any enlightenment would also help me understand aspects and transits a bit better. Thanks a lot. Lana

  9. Angel Curl says:

    Can you tell me, my daughters birthday falls on the lunar eclipse on the 15th of June. She will be 6 and is a highly intuitive and psychic child. Will this day be a different type of birthday for her and how should I best guide her through it ? I am a Saggitarian mother born 16th December 1972. Thank you.

  10. Peter,
    How does the lunar eclipse impact me? First house 24 Sag 13 conj Saturn.Birth is Dec 16, 1957. I am waiting to hear about a new job and relocation.
    mary

  11. robinintheuk says:

    I always find eclipses interesting. Besides the energy being so intense it almost as if that intensity gives us the opportunity or impetus to make needed changes in our lives. Sometimes these changes are small, sometimes big and sometime completely taken out of our hands. This particularly series of eclipses are and will continue to effect me in a big way. This coming full moon sits right on my Sun while trining my Pluto and sextiling my Neptune. I have been ill with a ‘mysterious’ disease for quite some time now. It seems impossible to just ‘ride’ these transits out… The question is how does one participate/make use of without attempting to control?

    Obviously my comments are completely subjective my own very personal opinion.

    Thank you very much for this post. It was very interesting and nice to have charts…

    Robin

  12. […] On June, 15th 2011, at 20:13UT, there will be a total lunar eclipse. At this time the Moon will be in 24* 23′ Sagittarius, exactly opposite the Sun in 24*23’ Gemini as the chart below, cast for London, shows: One can immediately recognise that the Moon is conjunct the Ascendant, which makes this a significant eclipse for London and with it for the whole of the United Kingdom. The map below shows the eclipse’s line of angularity:    (click on the … Read More […]

  13. […] Lunar Eclipse June 15th, 2011 starsandstones.wordpress.com […]

  14. […] Lunar Eclipse June 15th, 2011 starsandstones.wordpress.com […]

  15. Sadie says:

    Today the Lunar eclipse takes place. I am 39 weeks 4 days pregnant, due on 18 June 2011. Will the moon have an affect on childbirth?

  16. Ants says:

    Oh wow! Came across this site by mistake. Please, please read Big Bang by Simon Singh and maybe you all could get a real appreciation of what studying the universe has actually taught us. (I know it seems pointless and nobody here will care for this post but reading this just pained me)

  17. menega says:

    soooo… “which makes this a significant eclipse for London and with it for the whole of the United Kingdom” along with eclipse chart’s jupiter (news, politics, legalities, BIG) on the IC. the whole murdoch/news/hacking story so it seems.

  18. menega says:

    it’s certainly a disease situation in the english publishing and political world, not specific to england itself but with memorable and widespread repercussions.

Leave a Reply

