Solar Eclipse July 1st, 2011

On July, 1st 2011, at 08:53UT, there will be another partial solar eclipse. At this time Sun and Moon will be conjunct in 09˚12’ Cancer, forming an applying square to a very strong Saturn, being in exaltation, triplicity and face in Libra, as the chart below shows.

Furthermore the Moon’s North Node is conjunct the fixed stars Ras Alhauge and Lesath. Ras Alhague is located in Ophiuchus and is called “the head of the serpent charmer.” This fixed star is associated with perversion and depravity. Lesath is located in Scorpius; it is the “sting” in the tail of the scorpion and points to accidents, danger, catastrophes or operations.

In his Annus Tenebrosus, or the Dark Year, William Lilly presents a method of eclipse delineation, including an interpretation of the effects of solar and lunar eclipses, occurring in each decanate of the Zodiac. As this solar eclipse takes place in the first decanate of Cancer, which is ruled by Venus, Lilly’s aphorism is as follows:

“it disturbs the ayr and stirrs up strange weather, and variety of it, inclines men to Arms, and to violate national Leagues, deceitfully under species of religion”

Lilly continues, explaining where to look to clarify the delineation:

“… For although it be most true, that the Planet who disposeth of the place of the Eclipse, shall mostly shew what manner or quality the effects shall be of, yet are they more or lesse, great or little, more forcible, or more restrained, according to the quality of that Planets existence and fortitude at time of the Eclips.”

In the case of this eclipse this is the Moon in Cancer, the sign she rules over. It has to be noted that the Moon is cazimi as well. The Sun, apart from being eclipsed, is peregrine and both Planets are forming an applying square aspect to Saturn.

Canada, which is traditionally ruled by Cancer, is touched by the line of the eclipse’s angularity, as well as parts of Brazil.

(click on thumbnail to enlarge)

(click on thumbnail to enlarge)

For readers, interested in the personal implications of this eclipse, it might be of interest what William Lilly has to say:

“… Eclipse is more dangerous or pernitious which shall be in the Horoscope or Ascendant of the birth; or which shall be in the degree Ascending in an Annuall Revolution: it portends unto the Native some ominous and mischievous action as unto his body and also in his vital substance.”

And further on:

“… who had in the Radix of his Nativity either the Sun or the Moon in that degree, or in the degree opposite … or in the like degrees … which signs are in Quadrate aspects to the former, or if the degree Culminating in any man’s Nativity was either [the degree of the eclipse or its opposite or square] or within one degree therof, the native did suffer more or less by the influence of this Eclips; according to the signification of the House of Heaven, wherein the Sun or the Moon was in at the Birth, and was either well fortified or aspected of the benevolent Planets, or ill aspected, or afflicted of the Malevolents.”

For this particular Solar eclipse that means that people with Cancer rising, either in their birth chart or in their Solar return chart for 2011, will feel the influence stronger than others. Furthermore it should be noted if Sun or Moon are conjunct the eclipse point. If it should be the case that one or even more of these factors apply, an in -depth reading of the native’s charts may be necessary to find out which particular areas of life are likely to be affected the most .

18 comments on “Solar Eclipse July 1st, 2011

  1. Judy says:

    Perhaps I should go hide my head in the sand. My natal ascendant is a mere 2 degrees distant from the eclipse point, and the line of angularity runs right by me in New England. My other Cancer children (1 sun, 2 ascendant) are further away at 18 Cancer, and 23 Cancer (both ascendants are at the same degree), so hopefully they are spared a bit. I suppose that with a large family (soon to be 6 kids) I will always have someone to worry about. 🙂

  2. aliman says:

    The eclipse of july 01, 2011 is conjoin my natal sun and ascednet both. And there is so much going on in life so anyone who can hint what I may expect. Thanks

  3. Marie says:

    Thanks Peter for this great and interesting Information about the common Eclipse …
    well, I am a Sagittarius and my Ascentant is Libra .. hehe the next Time I life in a Hurrican and wild Ocean also in a hot desert … have a good time ..;-)

  4. govindum says:

    solar or lunar eclipses are part of MUNDANE ASTROLOGY not a HORA ASTROLOGY. and in mundane we study the nature not a person. this solar or coming moon eclipses will create their impact on eastern side of world e.g Australia, Japan, Israel,west Asia, some part of Africa, riwanda etc. we will some natural calamities. and personally I can bet you no only Geminin will effected.

    • Dear Govindum,
      thank you for your comment.
      Reading my posts carefully you will realise that I am aware of the mundane impact these eclipses may have. I can not agree with your compartmentalised view of astrology, though. There is only ONE astrology even if people decide to study different subjects. The maxime is “as above so below” and this applies to everything, not just to people or mundane events.

      • Ms. Ray says:

        Makes total sense as the planets are massive bodies in part of the macrocosm. It’s not like they’ve got little laser beams that hit this, but not that…

        I will tell you as a Cancer, June 27th, in the US, I have been finding myself doing a lot of very deep “shadow work,” not just as it is a part of my own path of faith and self, but so that I can be more effective to my clients and audience.

        Sounds like the shoe fits fine. Thank you for a very insightful post!!
        All the best,
        Ms. Ray

    • EL says:

      Left out New Zealand in that. Christchurch is in shatters and the activity that is a on going thing there , has taken its toll. So I pray that it is not going to be there.!!!

  5. Ishtar Babilu Dingir says:

    Thanks, Peter. And also for your blog entry about the lunar eclipse on the 15th. (https://starsandstones.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/lunar-eclipse-june-15th-2011/ ) Very helpful.

    So is it the general contention that if an eclipse takes place more visibly over a certain geographical area that that specific area would be more prone to Earth movements as a direct result of the eclipse, whether lunar or solar, partial or full? Or are these two factors not related, do you think?

    • Although in the old days much emphasis was put on visible phenomena, like comets or visible eclipses, by the 17th century it had dawned on astrologers that the impact of an eclise would be stronger and more immediate if it was conjunct the Ascendant. This meant as well that its judgment departed from the importance of visibility. The lines drawn on the maps I provide show where this angularity occurs (eclipse point conjunct ASC), indicating that the effects will be more swiftly and stronger in these places.

  6. Ishtar Babilu Dingir says:

    Thanks, Peter.

  7. While I had read on an astronomy site that this would be an “insignificant” eclipse, I think it will be a whopper. Even if you expand this to modern planets, this fires off the Cardinal sign T-square and completes it with a Grand Cross! As for me personally, it is exactly on my North Node in the 1st, opposing my Sun/South Node, which is obviously Capricorn, and the ruler, though exalted, is making a very tight square – and it will square my Jupiter in Aries also, so I will have my own Grand Cross! I am expecting some stuff to be revealed that was hidden before, that is for sure!

    • Yes, indeed! I just had a comment on the lunar eclipse entry, made by somebody who is into astronomy and came to read my article by accident. He, as so many other astronomers just did not get it that we are talking symbolism and not real cause ane effect by rocks in space. I don’t go over to astronomy blogs, insulting people there but unfortunately everybody who can hold a pair of binoculars seems to be an amateur astronomer these days. And then, although they don’t know anything about astrology, they feel entitled to belittle us as being unscientific and so forth. Anyway, you are right! This comming up eclipse will probably unearth a lot of emotions which have been hidden for some time. The tight connection with the Nodes might indicate some carmic stuff being revealed. I would be delighted if you would keep me informed about the effects the eclipse will have on you.

  8. Julia says:

    Hello Peter
    I was born on a second house, 9 deg Cancer sun, in conjunction with the upcoming solar eclipse and my midpoint is 7.5 gemini in close orb conjunction with the past June solar eclipse. After 20 years of hard work and good money I am suddenly without a job and have no idea where I am headed. But, I feel free and happy. If that wasn’t enough I was born with an Aries saturn squaring my natal sun, therefore I am going through a saturn opposing natal saturn. Any suggestions?

  9. Haroun Kola says:

    Thanks for a great article. Lots to look forward to!

  10. Amy says:

    This will be occurring in my 8th house, squaring my Pluto (no aspects with my other planets). Should I be worried?

  11. Sigistardust says:

    fantastic information, Peter, as always.
    this eclipse 01 July again conj. my natal Venus and Moon, Merc. all in the 10thH. what a year or more ahead and June 15th right smack on my Gem. sun again 10th H.

Leave a Reply

