Solar Eclipse 20 March 2015

On 20 March 2015, at 09:29UT, there will be a total solar eclipse. The eclipse will be visible in Svalbard, the Faroe Islands, Europe, northern and eastern Asia, and northern and western Africa. The map below shows the visibility of the eclipse:

Solar Eclipse March 2015 visibility

The astrological chart, cast for London, also shows the event:

Solar Eclipse March 2015 chart

Before we will discuss any possible effects on the individual person, we have a look at the mundane astrological implications of this eclipse. To be able to do this, we need to establish where the eclipse is likely to have its greatest effect. For this purpose we need to look at the countries or cities falling under the rulership of Pisces, the sign wherein the conjunction between Sun and Moon takes place. We also have to take into consideration that the eclipse’s visibility will greatly enhance its effect.

Looking through traditional source material, we find that France and Germany, Italy, Spain and Egypt are the locations that will most likely be affected by this solar eclipse.

The eclipse point is conjunct fixed star Scheat, one of the four stars of the Great Square of Pegasus. This star has always been associated with accidents, and particularly with drowning. Conjunct the Sun, it indicates danger through water and engines. Conjunct the Moon, it suggests worry, loss and gain of friends through criticism, danger of accidents and by water, according to Robson’s Fixed Stars and Constellations. Scheat was conjunct the Moon when the Titanic sank after she hit an iceberg in 1912.

Scheat’s nature is that of Mars, which ties in with the fact that, due to its location in the third decanate of Pisces, the eclipse is also ruled by Mars.

We find that that this “presages sedition, cruelty, bitterness of spirits, and the inhumanity of souldiers, as also much Controversy amongst Divines and Lawyers”, as William Lilly writes in his Annus Tenebrosus.

WIth Jupiter being the rulers of this eclipse, we can, according to William Lilly, expect to experience a good and peaceful time. But, as explained above, Mars is also eclipse ruler, which Lilly interprets in the way that we may see divers principal men suddenly arraigned, condemned and beheaded, impetuous storms, sudden and violent shipwrecks, and kings and princes inclined to tyranny.

divider

On a personal level, this eclipse could indicate that the native may lose their life in catastrophes, such as floods, shipwreck, mining accidents, airplane accidents, or maybe suicide. On the other hand, it is possible for a positive influence to emanate from Scheat, but only for some people. It can have a positive effect on their mental creativity, if these people are ready to receive such inflow, as Elsbeth Ebertin writes in Die Bedeutung der Fixsterne. This positive inflow is mainly shown by conjunctions between Scheat and Jupiter or Mercury. Pisces is Jupiter’s sign of rulership, but in the eclipse chart, Jupiter doesn’t aspect the Sun or Moon. The only saving grace could be that the Sun and Jupiter are in mutual reception by sign rulership.

An eclipse usually affects only a small number of people. To establish the possibility of any effect to take place, the birth chart should be scrutinized for any of the following:

  • Sun or Moon are in or around 29 Pisces
  • Sun or Moon are in or around 29 Virgo (opposition)
  • Sun or Moon are in or around 29 Gemini or Sagittarius (square)
  • 29 Pisces is culminating in the birth chart (conjunct Midheaven)
  • 29 Pisces is ascending in the birth chart (conjunct Ascendant)

Should it be the case that one or even more of these factors apply, an in-depth reading of the birth chart may be necessary to find out if, how and to what extent the native could be affected.

Solar Eclipse woodcut

UPDATE: Airbus Planecrash in the French Alps, as predicted.

New Update: Correlation between eclipse chart and co-pilot’s chart here

30 thoughts on “Solar Eclipse 20 March 2015

  1. Pingback: Link | Blog Materiali dell’Associazione Federigo II Svevia

  2. Pingback: Solar Eclipse (and New Moon) of March 2015 | Grandtrines

  3. Moon 29 Gemini in 12th and MC 27 Pisces. I’m going on a holiday with friends the day after the eclipse, not liking the description of airplane wrecks so much!! I’ve had a few job interviews recently so I’m hoping this eclipse might signal the starting point of a new job, something more permanent.

  4. Hi Peter! Thank you for this article. This eclipse conjunct my Sun. I feel positive changes 🙂

    I think that according to Ptolemy this eclipse is ruled by Venus (exaltation, diurnal triplicity ruler and aspect by sign). I know that Lilly would choose Mars due to decan, but I know better Ptolemy.

    Anyway, is it possible to read anywhere Annus Tenebrosus? I can’t find it on-line.

    It’s interesting that according to Ptolemy this solar eclipse will not have any influence on human beings (generally, but if it is on somebody’s natal Sun, Moon or Asc – of course, it would work). Both Sun&Moon and their ruler – Venus – are not in human constellations. I write short article about it on my blog in Polish: https://podniebosklonem.wordpress.com/2015/03/16/zacmienie-slonca-w-marcu-2015/

  5. Hi Peter, this Eclipse is conjunct my sun 29 Pisces in my 11th house, does this make for an important year do you think? 🙂

  6. Hello Peter ~ I just found your website while looking for info on Scheat and this eclipse. I have Scheat on my Mars at 25 Pisces conjunct Venus 29.27 degrees. (Some charts say 11th house, some 12th)
    Do you think or know if this conjunction has any great significance I need to be attuned to? Sheat right on my Venus – I haven’t found anything about its significance. Thank you.
    Through this eclipse I have found new info on traditional astrology that I now want to investigate further and your good site is a place to start. Thank you!
    Cheryl in New York

    • Cheryl, I am glad you found my website! Robson says about Scheat conjunct Mars that there may be “many accidents, sickness to native and relatives”. Hoffmann/Ebertin tell us about the usual mundane ctastrophies when with malefics, but don’t have anything about conjunctions to Mars or Venus in the individual.
      Let me know if I can be of any more help!

  7. hello, since 3 days I’ve been having a headache which is not relieved by panadol nor ibuprofen, yesterday I made blood tests to check if its something serious maybe diabetes, showed everything normal, visited an ophthalmologist to check if its my eyes, showed 6/6 perfect eye sight and no eye pressure, did mri for my head to check my sinuses and other, everything is fine. so wat is it? is it really the star sign? im Gemini 2/6/1984. can someone help? how long will the headache and laziness last? thanks

  8. Hi Peter,

    I really enjoyed your article. I am very interested in eclipses. I read that the pre natal eclipses can show your life path ….in my case there was a Lunar eclipse at almost the same degree of my rising sign (Leo 5.48) one month before my birthday date and another lunar eclipse two days before at 1 degree of my sun and a solar eclipse a two degrees before the degree of my north node. The more I read about eclipses the more I am fascinated about the way they work …I am still trying to find more information about this … would you recommend any reading?

    The Eclipse 20 March aspected my natal moon (2.32 Aries 9th House) and was also in opposition to my natal Saturn (27 Virgo- 3rd house) which is natally sextile to my uranus (21.51 Scorpio – 4th house).

    Would the eclipse on 20 March mean bad/ unexpected news or disruption related to family/ home front? Would it be the ending of a situation in these areas? Would this eclipse triggers the opposition for one year so lot of pessimistic thoughts on emotional matters? As the eclipse falls on my 9th House (Piscis cusp) would this relate to legal matters?

    My natal moon (2.32 Aries 9th House) will also be touched by the 28 September eclipse and my natal Jupiter (which is at 17.14 vir) will be touched by the eclipse on 13 September …Last time that we had eclipses in the Piscis-Virgo axis I experienced an eclipse on my sun (the worst thing in my life with the eclipses that touched my natal venus) and since then things have gone down first emotionally, then work, finance, home ….I also had very bad outer planet transits… It has taken me ages to recover emotionally so should I expect the same with this eclipses as most of them will touch my natal planets? …. the full moon on 29 August will again aspect my natal sun …. I have the feeling to come back to square one …scary!

    I am talking about these eclipses:

    Sep 22, 2006 Sun 29 Vir 20 Conjunct Moon 29 Vir 20(SE) (My natal saturn is at 27Vir)
    Mar 3, 2007 Sun 13 Pis 00 Opposition Moon 13 Vir 00(LE) (My Jupiter is at 17.14 Vir)
    Mar 18, 2007 Sun 28 Pis 07 Conjunct Moon 28 Pis 07(SE (My natal saturn is at 27Vir)
    Aug 28, 2007 Sun 4 Vir 45 Opposition Moon 4 Pis 45(LE) (My natal sun is at 4.58 Vir)
    Sep 11, 2007 Sun 18 Vir 24 Conjunct Moon 18 Vir 24(SE) (My Jupiter is at 17.14 Vir)
    Feb 20, 2008 Sun 1 Pis 53 Opposition Moon 1 Vir 53(LE) ( My sun is at 4.58 Vir)
    July 7, 2009 Sun 15 Can 24 Opposition Moon 15 Cap 24(LE) (My natal Venus 19.12 Can)
    July 11, 2010 Sun 19 Can 24 Conjunct Moon 19 Can 24(SE)(My natal Venus 19.12 Can)
    Nov 13, 2012 Sun 21 Sco 57 Conjunct Moon 21 Sco 57(SE) ( My uranus is at 21. 51 Sco)
    Oct 23, 2014 Sun 0 Sco 25 Conjunct Moon 0 Sco 25(SE) (My Mars is at 29.16 Libra)

    Mi rising sign is Leo 5.48 and MC Aries 22.12

    Thank you for your comments!

  9. Hi Peter,

    I left the other day a comment but I am not sure if you received it…
    I was asking about this eclipse and the ones that are coming in April, August and September 2015 as I have had very bad experiences with this family of eclipses back in 2006-2007

    The Eclipse 20 March touched my natal moon (2.32 Aries 9th House) and it will made an opposition to my natal Saturn (27 Virgo- 3rd house) which is natally sextile to my uranus (21.51 Scorpio – 4th house).

    Thanks!

  10. Hello Peter, I live in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, I found your web site while I was searching for some astrological informations about the yestarday aircraft in french alpes. Oh my good, Ive been in dusseldorf some years ago, i´m so sorry; and I like very much your article about the last eclipse, on march 20. I notice that people here in my country are going very mad and nervous for nothing. Our country is in a economic crisis and people are very disturbed.

  11. This eclipse exactly conjoined my true node and was within a couple degrees of my sun, chiron and mercury. I felt it like a “ping.” I am on fire, but I’ve been working to channel it in a creative, nondestructive manner.

Leave a comment